TOWN OF MCMILLAN SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

McMillan Town Hall 113904 Elm Tree Road, Marshfield, WI 54449 August 26, 2024 7:00 PM

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Deb Derfus. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- 2. Roll Call: Present: Rod Bauer, Nicole Forst, Dave Swenson, Carolyn Opitz, Deb Derfus.
- 3. George Derfus made comments regarding Rangeline Road, Carolyn Opitz, Dave Swenson, and Pat Weigel. Kurt Bornbach expressed his disgust regarding the meeting on August 21, 2024 and announced his resignation from the McMillan Highway Committee.
- **4. 2024 Budget** discussion occurred regarding the outcome of the August 21, 2024 meeting. Requested agenda item for September meeting to determine threshold for board approval for costs.
- **5. Culverts and Ditch Mowing** Rod stated he didn't believe Marathon County was able to help inspect culverts so Deb stated she might need to have the engineer come and inspect culverts on Galvin and Roman.
- **6. Grants** Deb announce we are able to apply for two ARIP grants from WisDOT. **MOTION** to apply for ARIP for Drake (from Hwy 97 to Eau Pleine) and Staadt (from Hwy 97 to Hwy C). Forst/Swenson; all ayes.
- 7. Closed Session Regarding Personnel Matters pursuant to WI Stats §19.85(1)(c) to consider hiring McMillan town employee and compensation.
- 8. Reconvene into open session at 7:57pm
 - a. **MOTION** to approve standard retirement contribution for Pat Weigel for hours worked from July 1 to August 14, 2024. Forst/Bauer; roll call vote; all ayes
 - b. **MOTION** to hire Kevin Steines at \$20/hr, part-time as available due to his other employment; Forst/Swenson; roll call vote; all ayes
 - c. MOTION to subcontract mowing the park lawn using our equipment to Clark's Landscaping, at the discretion of Nicole Forst (Buildings and Grounds Supervisor), for the remainder of 2024. Forst/Swenson; roll call vote; all ayes.

Deb Derfus announced Becca Wilson's resignation from the Plan Commission.

MOTION – to adjourn the meeting; Swenson/Forst; all ayes

ADJOURN: 8:02 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted by: John Cokl, Town Clerk